Sydney

sydneypano1

G’day from the Land Down Under! Actually, by the time I post this I’ll be literally on the complete opposite side of the world in Paris. This post is just to catch up on what I’ve been up to for the past week since leaving New Zealand.

After a hop across the Tasman Sea, I finally arrived in Australia. I couldn’t tell you how long I’ve been waiting for this day. As a kid I had this weird passion for everything Aussie. That carried on with me into adulthood and I always told myself if there was only one country in the world I had to visit it would be Australia. I honestly don’t know why I’ve found it so appealing, its mostly a big desert with some nice beaches all around. But even in the initial one week I had in Sydney, I can say that I can see myself staying a while. Fortunately, an old friend of mine from home who now lives in Sydney offered me a place to stay during my visit. Once I got my stuff dropped off at her place, I went out for a walk to the Royal Botanic Gardens and the Opera House. Typical tourist thing to do, I know, but I couldn’t convince myself I was actually in Australia until I saw it for myself.

operahousebw

The Opera House is such a neat building, it’s beautiful. The sail-like roof has always fascinated me. In fact in high school I did a report on it and the architect who designed it, so it was surreal to finally see it in person! Seeing it up close is impressive, but I’ve found that the best place to gaze on this iconic landmark is across the bay at a place called Mrs. Macquarie’s chair. Here you get an amazing view of the city and the Opera House with the also iconic Harbour Bridge as a backdrop.

sydneycity

I was really impressed with Sydney. I’m not really a big city person, but I could see myself living here. For one it’s super easy to get around. The train and ferry system is very efficient and can get you pretty much anywhere. There are also so many neighborhoods around filled with nice cafés and restaurants (Australia is pretty big on the café scene). It seemed like everywhere I went there was some amazing aroma in the air that made my mouth water, especially in places like Chinatown and Bondi. For such a huge city, I thought it was fairly clean. Not a lot of pollution or litter lying around. The atmosphere is very lively, both day and night. Lots of people out running or doing some sort of sport, lots of people socializing with friends and colleagues in the parks. At night the restaurants and bars are alive with activity. Even in the winter (off-season), everything seemed busy.

coogeewalk

Of course there are the beaches. I made a few trips out to some of the city’s famous beaches like Manly and Bondi. From Bondi there’s a pretty neat walk that follows the coast for a few miles to Coogee Beach, another popular beach. And always surfers everywhere! In fact, one of my French friends I had met and travelled with in New Zealand also happened to be in Sydney the same time I was so he and another friend did some surfing at Manly Beach. It was my first time and I managed to stand on board (briefly) on my first try. Best of all, no shark attacks or jellyfish stings!

bondipool

On another day, we took a trip outside of the city to the Blue Mountains in the west. It’s very easy and relatively cheap to get to by train (two hour ride) from the city center. After New Zealand (and coming from the Pacific Northwest USA), I could hardly call them mountains. They’re more like hills, but the views were very nice. We were all surprised at how cold it was though! Bad idea to wear only a light jacket and shorts. It was also very crowded with other tourists, but we did a bit of walking around in the bush and managed to find a great viewpoint that was absent of other people.

IMG_8990

It was a great week in Sydney and even though I went out and did something or went somewhere new every day, I’ve barely scratched the surface of this great city.

2 thoughts on “Sydney

  1. Glad you enjoyed Sydney, I was there end June/early July as my daughter lives there. spent a day at Manly, wandered the Opera House etc precinct and too indulged in the cafe scene. Lovely photos.

  2. Pingback: 7 Highlights From Australia’s East Coast | The Crossroad

Leave a Reply

