A Quick Update From Queenstown

queenstownpano

Hello from beautiful Queenstown!

I’ve been in this alpine community for about 10 days now and have really been liking it so far. It’s a smallish town of about 23,000 people, but as the “adventure capital of the world” it’s very touristy and the population influxes greatly during the summer and winter seasons. Honestly, I think there are more people from overseas living here than local Kiwis! It’s a great little town though–laid back, outdoorsy, lots of things to do, and nice places to shop and eat. And being right in the heart of the Southern Alps on the shores of a large vibrant blue lake, it’s a beautiful place.

At the moment I’m working a few hours a day in exchange for accommodation at a hostel in a quite neighborhood on a hill above the city. It’s a pretty nice deal–the staff stay in their own house with free laundry and WiFi (which is a luxury in NZ since WiFi is so limited and expensive). The view overlooking the city, Lake Wakatipu, and the surrounding mountains are an added bonus as well! It’s been an incredible blessing to find a nice place to stay so quickly. I haven’t decided how long I’d like to stay here, since I’m still in travelling mode and really would like to keep exploring other parts of the country. But at the moment, Queenstown has sucked me in and I’ll be staying here at least for another month or two. For now I’m content with being so close to endless adventure opportunities, hanging out with my housemates, and reading Lord of the Rings. 🙂

Leave a Reply

