My Travel Wish List: The Top 10

Hey guys! It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything here, so I think it’s about time I updated with a new post! Here’s a list of my top ten places I’d like to visit one day. What are yours?

10. Ireland

Cliffs of Moher

The Emerald Isle–land of rolling green hills, endless fields dotted with sheep, cozy villages, rugged coasts, and friendly people. It’s also where my ancestors immigrated from centuries ago.

9. Nepal

Nestled high in the Himalayas, it’s safe to say that Nepal is a land of stunning natural scenery. Culture and tradition has withstood the test of time here, which really fascinates me considering that much of Asia is undergoing major changes in development. Home to the world’s highest mountains, Nepal is known as the “roof of the world”. Having always been a dream of mine to catch a glimpse of Everest in person, I hope to one day make the 8-10 day trek to Everest Base Camp.

8. Tanzania

While there are quite a few places in Africa I would like to visit, Tanzania seems to have a little bit of everything. It’s one of the best places to go on a safari for wildlife viewing, with over 15 national parks and conservation areas. The country is rich with culture as ethnic groups, such as the Masai, still embrace their native customs and semi-nomadic lifestyle. Kilimanjaro, the highest mountain on the African continent, attracts climbers from all over the world year-round (another item on my bucket list). Although not widely known, Tanzania also boasts beautiful tropical beaches. Islands and marine parks can be found all along the coast, making them ideal places for diving. Another alternative to Tanzania that I would consider visiting is neighboring Kenya, which has similar cultures and variety of wildlife viewing opportunities.

7. Costa Rica

Costa Rica! The homeland. I have a lot of family that still lives there, whom I have yet to meet. Costa Rica offers sandy white beaches, lush rainforests, and active volcanoes. Although it is a fairly small country, there are a lot of fun things to see and do there—white water rafting, zip-line canopy tours, surfing, scaling volcanoes to name a few. It’s considered to be among the richest countries in biodiversity, representing nearly 4% of all plant and animal life on Earth.

6. Greece 

Santorini-6

As a lover of Greek food, Greece would be the obvious place to go to indulge on culinary favorites like souvlaki and gyros. That, and all endless island hopping trips one can take through the beautiful blue Mediterranean sounds rather appealing!

5. Thailand

If I could go anywhere in the world just for the food, it would have to be Thailand. Fact: I LOVE Thai food. If I could, I’d seriously have it every day. Of course, I’ve only had Thai food here in America—I can’t imagine how amazing it must be in Thailand. Besides the culinary wonders, there are the fantastic beaches and tropical islands that the country has to offer. Give me a plate of pad thai and a nice spot under a palm tree on the beach and I’d probably never want to leave!

4. England

I’ve heard many good things about England. The country is rich with history and culture, with quirky traditions and charming atmosphere. The people are friendly and have a unique sense of humor. The landscape is diverse with rolling grassy hills dotted with castles and hamlets, beautiful beaches, wild coasts, and rugged highlands. London is the home of the British royalty and has many world-famous museums.

3. France

France is considered to be the most visited country in the world, and there is really no surprise there. Many flock here for its food and wine, while others come to marvel at the country’s beautiful beaches, countrysides, and mountains. Paris is among the most famous cities on Earth, with such rich history, marvelous museums, and beautiful architecture including the iconic Eiffel Tower. Personally, I’d love to watch the Tour de France in person!

2. New Zealand

Famous for its natural beauty and people of legendary friendliness, New Zealand actually ties for #1 on my list. As the adventure capital of the world, New Zealand is a paradise for outdoor enthusiasts and adrenaline junkies. Some things on my to-do list include trekking to Milford Sound, climbing Mount Ngauruhoe (which LOTR fans might recognize as Mount Doom), black water rafting in Waitomo’s glow worm caves, zorbing in Rotorua, and kayaking Abel Tasman National Park. And that’s just the tip of the iceberg! There is so much I would love to see and do in this country that I am seriously considering staying a while whenever I finally make my way to this corner of the world.

1. Australia

I’m not quite sure why I’ve always been so fascinated with Australia. Even as a kid, I had always dreamed of one day standing before the Sydney Opera House, snorkeling the Great Barrier Reef, and watching the sunset at Uluru. Perhaps it’s the beautiful beaches and glorious warm climate.  Maybe it’s the world-class cities, home to renowned friendly people and their awesome Aussie accents.  Or maybe it’s the fact that Australia boasts one the most unique landscapes and environments on Earth, with native plants and animals found nowhere else.  Whatever the reason may be, the Land Down Under takes the #1 spot on my list!

And for good measure, here’s a few more that are also high on my list of places to see:

    • Bhutan
    • The Seychelles
    • The Philippines
    • Spain (especially around the Basque country)
    • Italy
5 thoughts on “My Travel Wish List: The Top 10

Leave a Reply

