Farewell, Paihia

This post is long overdue, but earlier this month I finally left the Bay of Islands to continue my travels around the beautiful country of New Zealand. After working long hours at two jobs for three months, I was pretty eager for some downtime again. But at the same time, a part of me felt reluctant to leave. There were so many good things that happened during my time there. I found two great places to work at: a hostel for accommodation and my first paid job in NZ at a resort. Even though between the two I was sometimes working up to 60 hours a week, I worked with some awesome people, learned new skills, got to know the locals more, and managed to save up quite a bit of money. I met some amazing people from all over the world, who most of all made everything worthwhile. I spent my first Christmas and New Years awy from home with good company. And the things I’ll never forget! All the laughs and talks. Cooking together. Eating together. The hikes. Swimming in the sea. Paintballing. Spending sunny afternoons on the beach. Sandboarding. Going to the beach at 1am. Sailing. Bridge jumping. The day trips to some incredible places. The long lazy summer days. The good life. :)

So thank you Paihia for all the great memories and one of the best summers I’ve ever had!

roadtriphomies

mataibayjump1

DSC00722

elcafegroup

saltwatercrew

IMG_2483

About Stephen Alvarado

This site is mainly a place for me to write about my travels and post photos for friends and family when I go on trips, but anyone is welcome to follow and read along! When I’m not travelling, I’ll still post updates from time to time. I love to hike and go on adventures around my home state of Washington, so I suppose I’ll post my trip reports about those as well. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in New Zealand, North Island. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Farewell, Paihia

  1. Anonymous says:

    Im sure that one of those amazing people was me!

Leave a Reply

