A Place To Call Home

bayofislandspano
Happy New Year everyone!

This year was the first time I spent the holidays away from home. Even though I was working for most of it, I’m glad to say that I’ve found a place to settle down for now. I’m currently living in the little beach town of Paihia in the Bay of Islands. I was here once before back in early October and really liked it. The town is small and has a very laid back atmosphere, but as a popular tourist destination it can get rather lively as well. Being closer to the equator than the rest of the country, the climate here is subtropical and fairly warm and sunny in summertime. As much as I missed the cold rainy Pacific Northwest weather for the holidays, it’s awesome being able to walk around in shorts and flip flops every day. It’s right next to the ocean so there are plenty of nice beaches around. There are also a lot of good hikes in the area as well.

I’m currently working two jobs right now–one for accommodation at my hostel for a couple hours a day and the other for pay at a big resort at the other end of town. It can get tiring at times (I worked for almost 12 hours on Christmas), but it keeps me busy and I can make a bit of money for the summer. A lot of my co-workers are also locals so I’ve finally gotten a chance to meet some Kiwis!

When I’m not working, I usually spend my days hanging out with friends, going on hikes, swimming in the sea, and laying around on the beach. Not a bad life. :) I’ll be here until March and will likely head south again after that. To where, I’m not fully sure but most likely back to Queenstown. For now I’m just going to enjoy spending the summer by the beach!

About Stephen Alvarado

This site is mainly a place for me to write about my travels and post photos for friends and family when I go on trips, but anyone is welcome to follow and read along! When I’m not travelling, I’ll still post updates from time to time. I love to hike and go on adventures around my home state of Washington, so I suppose I’ll post my trip reports about those as well. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in New Zealand, North Island and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Place To Call Home

  1. Wonderful. Sounds absolutely wonderful. :D

Leave a Reply

